Forward mail to another account

Gmail lets you automatically forward incoming mail to another address.

Here's how to forward messages automatically:

  1. Click the gear icon  in the upper right, then select Settings.
  2. Click the Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab.
  3. From the first drop-down menu in the "Forwarding" section, select 'Add a Forwarding Address.'
  4. Enter the email address to which you'd like your messages forwarded.
  5. For your security, we'll send a verification to that email address.
  6. Open your forwarding email account, and find the confirmation message from the Gmail team.
  7. Click the verification link in that email.
  8. Back in your Gmail account, select the 'Forward a copy of incoming mail to...' option and select your forwarding address from the drop-down menu.
  9. Select the action you'd like your messages to take from the drop-down menu. You can choose to keep Gmail's copy of the message in your inbox, or you can send it automatically to All Mail or Trash.
  10. Click Save Changes.

You also can set up filters to forward messages that meet specific criteria. You can create 20 filters that forward to other addresses. You can maximize your filtered forwarding by combining filters that send to the same address.

Note: While multiple email addresses can be added to the forwarding address drop-down in the Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab, Gmail can auto-forward mail to only one address at a time. The address that is shown in the drop-down and has '(in use)' next to it, is the address that mail is forwarded to. You can use filters to forward mail to multiple addresses.

How to stop auto-forwarding

If you no longer want to auto-forward your mail, follow these instructions:
  1. Click the gear icon  in the upper right, then select Settings.
  2. Click the Forwarding and POP/IMAP tab, or if you use Google Apps, you might have a Forwarding tab instead.
  3. In the "Forwarding" section, select the Disable forwarding radio button.
  4. Click the first drop-down menu in the "Forwarding" section and check for any forwards created by filtering.

If you suspect that forwarding was added without your permission,change your password immediately. Click here to learn how this can happen.